top of page
Search

Church Pew Revitalized

Updated: Jun 18, 2018


 



I always have these HUGE dreams, that involve so much but I have a really hard time seeing the tiny details. Well, here is my attempt at seeing the small details, and slowly trying to piece together a small little business where I can share my design ideas, furniture builds, and little vintages items I find along the way.



This little girl is amazing. She is the best little helper in the world, and I dread the day she no longer wants to help.

So I am soaking it in now while she is still young.




Today she helped with photographing an amazing piece. It is an old church pew, probably from the 1950s, totally a guess. And I was lucky enough to get my hands on it.

However I lack the patience to strip and seal the pew. It had a ton of old lacquer and dirt layered into the grain. So I asked my dad to take a look at it. He has the patience and dedication to pull out all the dirt, and when he doesn't he at least knows a guy. Hey we all need "a guy".




After realizing it was bigger job then we both had anticipated, we decided to send it out to get stripped. When we got it back, it was this beautiful light oak color, and I wanted to so bad to just preserve the light color as best we could without leaving the wood unsealed.


Homemade drying rack, first coat of water based poly

Second Coat of Poly

I choose to seal it with a water based poly, hoping it wouldn't yellow the wood too much. It worked amazingly! I loved how it came out!



 



Hope you enjoyed this! Please take some time to check out the Etsy shop, this church pew is for sale.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page